We are pleased to announce The Nautical Institute Lüddeke Prize 2024.

Call for norminations

Do you know an outstanding maritime student to nominate for this exceptional prize? 

Made possible by the Captain Christof Lüddeke estate, The Nautical Institute's Lüddeke prize is awarded in recognition of outstanding students in the maritime field.

The award is hosted annually and provides acknowledgement for those who have achieved excellence in their academic studies and who have made active contributions to the extra-curricular activities within their institute or place of study. 

Nominate your exceptional student before 31st May 2024 to be in for a chance to win! 

What is the prize?

The Nautical Institute Lüddeke Prize consists of:

  1. A certificate
  2. A cash prize of £750
  3. An award of books from The Nautical Institute publications list to the value of not more than £250
  4. Two years free Nautical Institute membership

Candidate criteria

To be nominated for the Lüddeke Prize candidates must be: 

  1. A student of The Nautical Institute Command Diploma Scheme
  2. A student nominated by a member of the GlobalMET community
  3. A student nominated by a member of the IAMI community
  4. A student undertaking maritime or maritime-related studies at the World Maritime University

Nominations should be submitted using the form below. 

Candidates for the prize are considered by a sub-committee appointed by The Nautical Institute and approved by the Institute's Nominations Committee.

Nominations will only be accepted when endorsed by the Head of Centre, Principal or Curriculum Leader of the nominating Institution.


How to nominate?

Please use the form below to nominate a student for The Nautical Institute Lüddeke Prize 2024. 


Award background information

The original Lüddeke awards were made possible by a generous legacy endowment from the estate of Captain Christof Lüddeke.  This award sought to recognise excellence in maritime studies and we are proud to continue the wishes of this generous donor.

Previous recipients have included members who went on to become President of The Nautical Institute and leading practitioners in their field.

Previous winners

"I felt proud of myself when Capt. John Lloyd awarded me the prize personally. I am happy to be the first person from Albania to be awarded a honourable prize and I believe I am giving a good representation of my home country. What I want to say to cadets and maritime students as potential winners is try to make a professional network, learn from experienced fellows and at the same time engage in various discussion to show potential!"  

Rei Misa (Winner: 2023)