

ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Hybrid meeting held both at University of Plymouth, Devon, United Kingdom and Online on 7th July 2022, 1640 BST

MINUTES

- 1. The Presidential Address was given by Jillian Carson-Jackson, FNI. This will be published in SEAWAYS in August 2022.
- 2. The Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 28th July 2021 were confirmed.
- 3. Participants were briefed on the Annual Report of the Trustees for 2021 by the Chair of the Executive Board, Mr Peter Hinchliffe, OBE, FNI.
- 4. The Annual Accounts for the year ending 31st December 2021 were reviewed by the Hon. Treasurer, Captain Duncan Telfer, FNI, and approved.
- 5. Auditors Messrs. Appleby and Wood were re-appointed and the Directors were authorised to set their remuneration.
- 6. The recommended modifications to the governance documentation were adopted and approved for:
 - the modernisation of the vocabulary to reflect the Institute's present-day working practice of diversity and inclusion.
 - the amendment of the wording in the Bylaws to clarify the Chief Executive attends the Executive Board meetings and is not a member of the board. This brings it into alignment with the Articles of Association.
 - the inclusion of the structure of the Younger Members' Council as Article 19.7 and the Chair and Vice-Chair of the YMC to be ex-officio Members of Council.
 - the seagoing composition of Council to show that the requirement of 40% of seagoing members refers to elected Council Members only.
- 7. The Chief Executive delivered an update on the activities of The Nautical Institute. The update included:
 - Activities of the Institute, including staff changes
 - New Initiatives: Ocean Project, Fishing, DPVM
 - Golden Jubilee Events
 - Student free membership

It was also noted that Bridget Hogan, who retired at the end of last year as Director of Publications and Membership was presented with a Nautical Institute Honorary Fellowship by HRH, The Princess Royal.

8. The following were elected as members of Council for a period of 3 years:

Shore based

- Captain João Frade AFNI (Iberia)
- Mr John-Paul Pantin AFNI (Caribbean Islands)
- Captain Kevin O'Neil MNI (Australia/WA)
- Professor Malek Pourzanjani FNI (UK/Solent)
- Captain Harihar Subramaniam FNI (Singapore)

Seagoing

- Captain Oliver Chasteauneuf AFNI (UK/SW England)
- Captain Cristian Ciortan AFNI (Romania)
- Mr Gordon Foot (UK/SW England)
- Captain Alexandra Hagerty AFNI (US/West Coast)
- Captain Bill Hargreaves FNI (UK/Solent)
- 9. The following members were elected as Officers of the Institute:

Vice President:

• Mr Kaushik Roy FNI – (Hong Kong)

Senior Vice President:

• Captain Trevor Bailey FNI (UK/NW England & N Wales)

President of The Nautical Institute

• Captain Andre LeGoubin FNI (US Gulf/Florida)

The new President delivered an Acceptance Speech and recognised the hard work of the Immediate Past President Jillian Carson-Jackson.

This concluded the formal business of the Annual General Meeting.

10. The President invited the CEO to announce the awards of Fellowship and other awards.

Certificates of Fellowship:

- Captain N Aslanis FNI Hellenic (Greece)
- Captain J Drummond FNI South East Australia
- Mr S Edmonston FNI
- UK/London
- Commodore J R Fanshawe FNI UK/Solent
- Commander T Joseph FNI India SW

- Mr N Malhotra FNI Singapore
- Captain J Misra FNI
- Captain K Olayiwola FNI
- Captain M S Paradkar FNI
- Captain N Atkinson FNI •
- Captain L Bergqvist FNI
- Captain M B Easton FNI
- Captain J Frade FNI •
- Captain H Gupta FNI •
- Captain V S Malhotra FNI
- Captain A Till FNI

- UAE
- Nigeria
 - Singapore
 - UK/NW England & N Wales Sweden
 - UK/NW England & N Wales
- Iberia
- India (North)
 - Singapore
- South Africa
- 11. The Award of Chartered Master Mariner

Master of the Honourable Company and Chair of the Chartered Master Mariner Registration Authority, Commodore Duncan Lamb (RFA rtd) presented the award to Captain Michael Clegg CMMar FNI.

12. The CEO announced the following individual Awards for Recruitment of more than five members.

Blue Awards:

- Capt Manmohan Singh Kahlon MNI, India (North West) Branch
- Mr Ethige Mario Ramyesh Dilhan De Silva MNI, Sri Lanka Branch •
- 13. In recognition of being the first seafarer to be awarded the Luddeke Prize, Captain Robert McCabe FNI was awarded the honour of being the custodian of the painting of the vessel Passat, commissioned by Captain C F Luddeke and presented to The Nautical Institute.

The meeting concluded at 1800 BST.

Signed as a true record of the decisions

Captain Andre LeGoubin FNI, Chair of the Meeting

Captain John Lloyd, Chief Executive

Meeting Attendees:

In person		
Jillian	Carson-Jackson	John
Andre	LeGoubin	Ghulam
Nick	Nash	Duncan
Richard	Allan	Reuben
Karl	Austin	Julian
Trevor	Bailey	Steve
Chris	Balls	Javier
Robin	Batt	Naoki
Hamzah	Bin Mohamed Noor	Duncan
Jaquelyn	Burton	Paul
Tim	Charlesworth	
Oliver	Chasteauneuf	Staff
Himanshu	Chopra	John
John	Dickinson	Lucy
Harry	Gale	Jenny
Steven	Gosling	Somiyeh
Philip	Gregson	Aly
Dave	Guy	Natoya
Keith	Hart	Ericsson
Charles	Hattersley	James
Christopher	Haughton	Anna
Peter	Hinchliffe	Jeffrey
Bridget	Hogan	David
Bob	Hone	Colin

Hunt Hussain Lamb Lanfranco Parker Pelecanos Saavedra Saavedra Saito Telfer Wright

Lloyd Budd Daintree Djavanroodi Elsayed Harris Kwan Luetchford Macharzewska Parfitt Patraiko Payne

Online

First Name	Last Name	Philip	Anderson
Romeo Patrick Winde	Agbehounkpan	Howard	Anguish
Mauricio	Arriagada	Kofi	Ansu
Wagner	Azevedo	Roger	Armstrong
John	Abercrombie	Nikos	Aslanis
Erik	Abiola	Neil	Atkinson
Joshua Hughes	Addison	Sajith	Babu
Funke	Agbor	Michael	Barritt
Syed Amir	Ahmed	Angelica	Baylon
Samuel	Akpan	Mehrdad	Behforouzi
Segun	Alabi	Douglas	Bell
Mahbub Ul	Alam	Michael	Bergmann
Nelson	Almeida	Lars	Bergqvist
D. J.	Amarasuriya	Steve	Blair

Stan Felix Steve Colin Les Nigel Martin Ashley Mario Frederic Colin Dimitar Kurt Tami Gerry Gordon Joao Carlos Peter Generoso Jr Antonio Anthony Christopher Sashidaran Robert Ozgur William John Jonathan Leslie Bayu Yn Keith Verghese Simon Mohammad Mostafa Michail S. B. S. Stuart Denys John Syed Adnan Ahmad Ajmal Srirang Philip Meena Duncan John Prasad

Bowles Bove Cameron Chandler Chapman Collingwood Conroy Cooper De Silva Decaluwe Dewey Dimitrov Duncan Edwards Ellis Foot Frade Furneaux Galvez García Gatt Gillard Gopala Greenwood Gunes Hargreaves Heesch Hesketh Indrianto Jayarathna Jayasuriya John Jones Kamal Kapellos Lakmal Lawrence Levytsky Macisaac Mahmoodi Mahmoodi Manjeshwar Mathews Mathews Mckelvie Menezes

Robbie Jeroen John Samuel Ibikunle Olayiwola Kai Wendell Mathew Alabi Sinan Juan Carlos John-Paul Prashant David Nimal Shehan Adrian Oleksandr David Peter Kaushik Praveen Paul Vinicius Farrukh Harjinder Athanasios Peter Sundeep Sudhanshu Deepak Mike Alen Bryan Mukhtar **Rajeev Kumar** Thilanka Geraldine John Lance Kuongchiing Ravi Vladimir Roger Luis Branimir Riccardo Luigi

Middleton Mooij Noble Omowaiye Oladapo Oltmanns Owusu Oyelami Ozgun Paz Zanabria Pantin Patil Patraiko Perera Perera Pierce Pipchenko Reid Roberts Roy Ramdial Roche Santos Shahzad Singh Skiadas Selby Sequeira Shastri Shelar Shelverton Siju Simpson Singh Singh Sirimanna Spiteri Taylor Tiedt Tiong Tissera Torskiy Towner Trejo Trifonov Tromba

Moin	Uddin	W. Nishan	Wijayakulathilaka
B. Sitki	Ustaoglu	Philip	Wake
Yves	Vandenborn	Lakshi	Wasantha
Maneesh	Varma	Nitzeira	Watson
George	Vathiath	Godage Charaka	Wickramanayake
Travis	Vaz	Alan	Wilson
Bero	Vranic	Georgios	Zot